hamburger overlay

Everything you need to know about HbA1c

Hemoglobin A1c, HbA1c, A1c… You have probably heard these letters and numbers before. However, what do they actually mean? What is an HbA1c test? What is a “normal” HbA1c level? What can you do to lower your HbA1c? These are great questions. Well, we’ve put together everything you need to know about HbA1c here. What is the HbA1c test? Hemoglobin is the part of your blood that carries oxygen. It’s what gives your blood its red color. When glucose is processed by your body and enters your bloodstream, a small amount of it...

Read More

Refine Results

Breakfast bowl and fruits

Start the day off right!

It’s a fact: breakfast is the most important meal of the day. In addition to providing you with the energy you need, it helps you keep hunger under control and prevent drops in blood sugar… as long as you limit carbohydrate and fat intake in favor of protein and fibre. Low on time or ideas in the morning? Here’s some inspiration! Yogurt parfaits You’ll love how easy it is to make them: just combine low-fat plain yogurt, nuts and fresh or dried fruits. ...

Read More

Your Ten Best Food Allies

It’s a fact: not all foods are created equal. Some are dangerously seductive, like this chocolate bar that’s winking at you from the counter. And others are so nutritious and healthy—as well as delicious—that they fall into the “superfood” category. Their best assets: a high nutrient and vitamin content and a low glycemic index. But who are these formidable allies in diabetes management? 1- Beans Like many legumes, beans of all kinds are full of dietary fiber—a considerable asset for someone living with diabetes. In addition to...

Read More
Young women eating a donut

Put A Stop To Cravings!

People living with diabetes often think they have to ban all unhealthy foods. Yet, dealing with your cravings, rather than trying to eliminate them, is the best way to prevent possibly damaging binges. Defuse high-calorie bombs. Bored? Stressed? Cravings often arise in response to a psychological need. Outsmart them: dive into a novel, or go for a walk or a run. Self-indulgence or true hunger? All you had for lunch was a green salad? It’s no surprise that your stomach is growling! Add some fibre and protein to...

Read More
Chocolate

A matter of chocolate!

Why deny yourself the pleasure? Good for both your mood and your cardiovascular health, chocolate can very easily be integrated into your diet—as long as it’s consumed in moderation, of course. Good fats The types of fats contained in cacao butter, such as monounsaturated fatty acids, prevent high cholesterol, which contributes to good cardiovascular health. Antioxidants The flavonoids contained in dark chocolate help lower blood pressure by...

Read More

Debunking Dietary Myths

Who hasn't heard far-fetched "facts" about diet and diabetes? These days, with the barrage of information coming at us from all sides, it can be hard to separate fact from fiction. In this article, we take a closer look at 8 of the most common and persistent...

Read More
Chocolate heart

Delicious Valentine’s Day

Picture this: it’s Valentine’s Day and all that chocolate is looking mighty fine. You’d like to enjoy a good dinner without worries—so what do you do? Do not fear, here we come to the rescue. Here are three ideas to celebrate the occasion while keeping your diabetes managed. 1. This year, forget about overcrowded restaurants and prepare a five-star meal in the comfort of your home by drawing inspiration from Ricardo’s excellent recipes for people with diabetes. You’ll have peace of...

Read More

Get Grilling!

Do you recognize the fragrance that’s filling the air in your neighbourhood? That’s right, the barbecue season has begun! You put on your apron, ready to impress everyone with your grill mastery… when suddenly, the question arises. Is this cooking method compatible with diabetes management? Good news: it’s absolutely possible to cook healthy meals on the barbecue. The important...

Read More
Sugary drinks

Sugary Drinks: Not So Sweet After All

The World Health Organization recommends reducing sugar intake to 10% of daily energy intake—in other words, 200 of the 2,000 calories that you consume in the day, or 50g of sugar. And lowering that percentage to 5%, or 25g, would be even healthier. That’s barely 6 teaspoons a day! One thing you quickly learn when living with diabetes is that sugar is everywhere. Keeping a close watch on what you eat is fine, but applying the same vigilance to what you drink is just as important. Soft drinks are little calorie bombs. Each can has about 150...

Read More

Pages

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
hamburger overlay

Avantages et inconvénients de mêler végétarisme et diabète

Avez-vous remarqué plus d’options de substituts de viande à l’épicerie ou à votre restaurant préféré dernièrement? Les fromages sans produits laitiers, les saucisses sans viande et les burgers à base de plantes ne sont que quelques exemples que tous peuvent savourer, y compris les carnivores. Même la restauration rapide propose maintenant une variété de burgers végétariens trop bons pour s’en passer! Près de 10 % des Canadiens ont éliminé la viande de leur alimentation1. Les gens choisissent le végétarisme pour différentes raisons. Certains veulent perdre du poids, d’autres se préoccupent du sort des animaux, et d’...

Lire la suíte

Préciser les résultats

cooking delicious breakfast in a pan

Partez la journée du bon pied!

C’est un fait : le déjeuner est le plus important repas de la journée. En plus de vous fournir l’énergie dont vous avez besoin, il vous aide à maîtriser votre faim et à prévenir les baisses de glycémie… tant que vous limitez les glucides et les gras au profit des protéines et des fibres. Vous manquez de temps ou d’idées le matin? Voici un peu d’inspiration! Parfaits au yogourt On aime comme ils se préparent facilement : il suffit de combiner du yogourt nature faible en gras, des noix et des fruits frais ou séchés. Smoothies...

Lire la suíte

10 aliments à cuisiner pour le diabète

Qu’on se le dise : les aliments ne naissent pas tous égaux. Certains sont dangereusement séduisants, comme cette palette de chocolat qui vous fait de l’œil depuis le comptoir. Et d’autres sont tellement sains et nutritifs ‒ mais savoureux, également ‒ qu’ils entrent dans la catégorie des « superaliments ». Leurs meilleurs atouts : un apport élevé en nutriments et en vitamines, et un faible indice glycémique. Mais qui sont ces formidables alliés dans la gestion du diabète? 1- Les haricots Comme beaucoup de légumineuses, les haricots de toutes sortes regorgent de fibres alimentaires ‒ un...

Lire la suíte
Close-up of a chocolate bar

L’affaire est chocolat!

Pourquoi bouder son plaisir? Bon pour l’humeur, mais aussi pour la santé cardiovasculaire, le chocolat peut très bien s’intégrer à votre diète – à condition, on s’en doute, de le consommer avec modération. De bons gras. Les types de gras contenus dans le beurre de cacao, comme les acides gras monoinsaturés, préviennent l’augmentation du cholestérol sanguin, ce qui contribue à une bonne santé cardiovasculaire. Des antioxydants. Les flavonoïdes présents dans le chocolat noir contribuent à faire baisser la pression artérielle en diminuant la formation de LDL (lipoprotéines...

Lire la suíte

Légendes alimentaires… et autres mythes courants

​Qui n’a jamais entendu de « faits » tirés par les cheveux sur l’alimentation ou le diabète? À l’heure où nous sommes bombardés d’information, il devient parfois difficile de séparer le vrai du faux… aujourd’hui, levons donc le voile sur 8 mythes parmi les plus répandus et les plus tenaces. Mythe 1: Le diabète saute une génération Faux. Le diabète, malheureusement, ne fait pas de discrimination, et l’...

Lire la suíte
A trio of healthy paninis

Couleurs, saveurs et petit bonheur

Votre boîte à lunch a triste mine? Vous n’en pouvez plus du sandwich jambon-fromage-laitue accompagné d’une poignée de carottes? Voici quelques conseils pour remettre du plaisir dans vos petits plats de plastique. Les grandes lignes Épargnez-vous une source de stress le matin en préparant votre lunch la veille, en même temps que le souper ou sitôt après. Vous pouvez par exemple prévoir une portion supplémentaire du repas du soir pour votre dîner du lendemain. Ainsi, vous serez moins tenté de recourir aux solutions toutes faites offertes sur le marché ou de passer au restaurant-minute! Votre...

Lire la suíte
a plate with an apple and a measure band

Trop beau pour être vrai

« Perdez 15 livres en 15 jours », « Brûlez des calories en restant assis », « Découvrez les superpouvoirs des fèves de Machin Chouette »… ces grandes promesses vous disent sûrement quelque chose. Bien sûr, l’idée de maigrir sans effort semble géniale, mais qu’en est-il vraiment? Régimes miracles, régimes chocs et compagnie Les régimes extrêmes font miroiter une perte de poids drastique et rapide, au moyen d’un gros déficit calorique et d’importantes restrictions alimentaires. Oui, vous allez fondre si vous avalez seulement des smoothies ou de la soupe au chou. Mais ce n’est bon ni pour votre santé ni...

Lire la suíte
Lady looking at pastry with temptation

Halte aux fringales!

Quand on vit avec le diabète, on croit souvent devoir bannir tout aliment non santé. Or, gérer ses fringales – plutôt que de chercher à les éliminer – est le meilleur moyen de prévenir les excès potentiellement dommageables. Désamorcer les bombes caloriques. Ennui? Stress? La fringale répond souvent à un besoin psychologique. Bernez-la : plongez-vous dans un roman, ou allez marcher ou courir. Gourmandise ou faim légitime? Vous n’avez avalé qu’une salade verte au dîner? Pas étonnant que votre estomac soit insatisfait! Ajoutez donc des fibres et des protéines à vos repas...

Lire la suíte
lady drinks soda with a straw

Les boissons sucrées : moins, c’est mieux

L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé recommande de réduire l’apport en sucre à 10 % de la ration énergétique quotidienne, soit 200 des 2000 calories qu’un individu consomme en une journée, ou 50 g de sucre. Et il serait encore meilleur pour la santé de réduire cette portion à 5 %, c’est-à-dire 25 g. C’est à peine 6 cuillères à thé par jour! Lorsqu’on vit avec le diabète, on connaît bien la chanson : gare au sucre, il se retrouve partout. Si l’on surveille de près ce qu’on mange, on doit appliquer la même vigilance à ce qu’on boit. Les boissons gazeuses sont en effet de véritables petites bombes...

Lire la suíte

Pages