Accu-Chek®

Text size Decrease text size Increase text size

English

WelcomeLogin | Register

Sign in here.

Forgot your password?

Share this page Email This Page Print this page

Close X

Email This Page

All fields must be filled in

Advice: To send to multiple e-mail addresses, separate email addresses with a comma

Treatment

Diabetes does not have a cure, but it is treatable. With the proper treatment plan, you can reduce or even prevent the complications related to diabetes. Common treatments for diabetes include insulin injections, oral medications, diet and exercise. Work closely with your healthcare team to create the best treatment plan for you.

Over time, hyperglycemia (high blood glucose) can cause health problems. Diabetes has been linked to: 1

  • Heart disease
  • Heart attacks
  • Strokes
  • Kidney disease
  • Nerve damage
  • Digestive problems
  • Eye disease
  • Tooth and gum problems

You can help prevent health problems by keeping your blood glucose levels on target through regular monitoring.2

Choosing foods wisely and stay physically active are the first step. If you can’t reach your target blood glucose levels with diet and physical activity, your healthcare professional may prescribe diabetes medication. The medicine type will depend on your type of diabetes, your schedule and your other health conditions.

1National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse. Diabetes, Heart Disease, and Stroke. Available at http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/stroke/#connection. Accessed on November 11, 2008.
2 Endocrine Today. Use of SMBG results is needed for successful outcomes. Available at: http://www.endocrinetoday.com/view.aspx?rid=30180. Accessed on November 13, 2008.

Oral Medications

Many people with type 2 diabetes still produce some insulin, but their body either does not make enough or does not use it as effectively as it should.

Often, healthcare professionals start people with diabetes on a therapy of diet and exercise. If these are not enough, the healthcare professional may prescribe oral medications. If medication still does help control blood glucose levels, insulin may be added to a person’s therapy.

Today’s oral drugs offer more options for the treatment of type 2 diabetes. Because various medications work in different ways, healthcare professionals may be able to add drugs together for better results. Check your blood glucose level often as this will tell you whether your oral medication is working.

Back to Top


Hypoglycemia and Exercise
Physical activity or exercising for a prolonged period can lower blood glucose, but there are several measures you can take to treat it.

Learn more »

Managing Diabetes For Kids
Basic information for families who have children living with type 1 diabetes.

This website contains information on products which is targeted to a wide range of audiences and could contain product details or information otherwise not accessible or valid in your country. Please be aware that we do not take any responsibility for accessing such information which may not comply with any valid legal process, regulation, registration or usage in the country of your origin.

Accu-Chek®

Partager cette page Envoyer cette page par courriel Imprimer cette page

Choisissez une option de partage :

Fermer X

Envoyer cette page par courriel

Tous les champs sont obligatoires.

Conseil: pour un envoi à plusieurs adresses courriel, séparez chaque adresse par une virgule

Les traitements

Le diabète ne se guérit pas, mais il se traite. Avec un programme de traitement adéquat, vous pouvez réduire, voire prévenir les complications liées au diabète. Les traitements courants du diabète comprennent les injections d’insuline, les médicaments oraux, l’alimentation et l’activité physique. Travaillez en étroite collaboration avec votre équipe de soins pour élaborer votre plan de traitement optimal.

À la longue, l'hyperglycémie (glycémie élevée) peut entraîner des problèmes de santé. Le diabète a été associé à:1

  • l’insuffisance cardiaque
  • l’infarctus
  • l’accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC)
  • l’insuffisance rénale
  • des problèmes du système nerveux
  • des problèmes digestifs
  • des problèmes de la vision
  • des problèmes de dents et de gencives

Vous pouvez aider à prévenir ces problèmes en maintenant votre glycémie dans l’intervalle des valeurs recommandées au moyen d’une autosurveillance régulière.2

Faire le choix d’une saine alimentation et d’une activité physique régulière constitue la première étape. Si en dépit de ces mesures, vous ne parvenez pas à atteindre les valeurs de glycémie qui vous sont recommandées, votre médecin pourra vous prescrire des médicaments pour le diabète. Le type de médicaments dépendra de votre type de diabète, de vos occupations et d’autres aspects de votre santé.

1 National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse. Diabetes, Heart Disease, and Stroke. Disponible à l’adresse http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/stroke/#connection. Données du 11 novembre 2008. Article disponible en anglais seulement. Article disponible en anglais seulement.
2 Endocrine Today. Use of SMBG results is needed for successful outcomes. Disponible à l’adresse : http://www.endocrinetoday.com/view.aspx?rid=30180. Données du 13 novembre 2008. Article disponible en anglais seulement.

 

Médicaments oraux

Bien des personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 continuent de produire de l’insuline, mais leur organisme est soit incapable d’en produire assez soit incapable de l’utiliser efficacement.

Souvent, les professionnels de la santé commencent par proposer à leurs patients atteints de diabète une thérapie fondée sur une saine alimentation et sur l’activité physique. Si cela ne suffit pas, ils peuvent alors prescrire des médicaments oraux. Si la médication ne permet toujours pas de contrôler les niveaux de glycémie, l’insuline peut alors être ajoutée à la thérapie.

Les médicaments oraux d’aujourd’hui offrent plus d’options pour le traitement du diabète de type 2. Parce que des médicaments différents agissent de façons différentes, les professionnels de santé peuvent combiner plusieurs d’entre eux pour parvenir aux meilleurs résultats possibles. L’autosurveillance fréquente de votre glycémie vous permettra de savoir si votre médication est efficace.

Retour en haut de la page


Hypoglycémie et activité physique
La pratique ou prolongée d'activités physiques peut entraîner une chute du taux de glycémie, mais vous pouvez prendre plusieurs mesures pour y remédier.

En savoir plus »

Gestion du diabète pour enfants
De l’information de base aux familles avec des enfants atteints du diabète de type 1.

 

Ce site web contient des informations sur des produits destinés à un large public, et peut contenir des détails ou des informations sur des produits qui ne sont pas disponibles ou pas homologués dans votre pays. Roche ne saurait être tenu pour responsable de l’accès à des informations non conformes aux procédures, réglementations, inscriptions ou utilisations légales en vigueur dans votre pays d’origine.